5150 NW Milner Drive
Port St. Lucie, FL 34983
8 am - 4:30 pm
Effective March 2, 2020
8 am - 12 pm
12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Death records which exclude the cause of death are public record; therefore, any person of legal age (18) may request a death certificate without the cause of death.
A certification of a death certificate including the cause of death information may be issued only to the decedent's spouse or parent; the decedent's child, grandchild, or sibling if of legal age; or to any family member providing a will or insurance policy.
After 50 years from the date of death, cause of death information is no longer exempt from s119.07 Florida Statute. Anyone may obtain a certified copy showing cause of death on those records.
Death Certificates (of persons who died in any county in Florida) are available from 2009 to present. Previous years may be obtained from the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville.
All Death Certificates $ 14.00 Please make checks or money orders payable to "St. Lucie County Health Department."
To order a Death Certificate by mail, please send your request to:
- The Deceased name
- The Deceased date of death
- County of death
- Your relationship with the Deceased
- Purpose of death certificate
- Your Signature
- A photo copy of your ID (Preferably FL Drivers License or FL State ID).
Expired ID are not accepted as forms of identifications. For more information, call (772) 873-4932 or FAX (772) 873-8592.