

## APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD

**Office of Vital Statistics in St Lucie County** 

5150 NW Milner Drive Phone: 772-873-4932

Port St. Lucie, FL 34983 Fax: 772-873-8592

https://stlucie.floridahealth.gov/certificates/ Vitals.stlucie@flhealth.gov

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification, front & back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information card, passport, and/or military ID card. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

		SE	CTION A: DECI	EDENT	INFORMATION							
NAME OF DECEDENT	FIRST				MIDDLE	MIDDLE			LAST		SUFFIX	
ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE)					IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNA				AME (if known)		SEX	
DATE OF DEATH	MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT)				ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED (Required <u>only</u> when exact year of death is <u>not</u> known)				Indicate the <u>rar</u> searched	<u>rs t</u> o be		
PLACE OF DEATH	PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN				PLACE OF DEATH CO				STATE FILE NUMBER (if known)			
NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD (if applicable and if known)	FIRST			MIDDLE			LA	ST (Mai	iden, if applicable)		SUFFIX	
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (if known)					FUNERAL HOME NAME (if known)							
IMPORTANT INFORMATION Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.												
SECTION B: APPLICANT (adult requesting certificate) INFORMATION												
If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the relationship of the person you represent. Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form.												
Applicant's Name	FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)					SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT						
TYPE OR PRINT												
HOME PHONE NUMBER	MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT.				PT. NO., IF APPLICABLE)			RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT				
( )	)											
ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER		CITY			STATE			ſE		ZIP CODE		
)												
Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for Cause Death Information				NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED and			and T	THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT				
SECTION C: COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT FEE INFORMATION												
DESCRIPTION							FEE		QUANTITY		TOTAL	
Computer Certification with Cause of Death						\$	17.00	Х				
Computer Certification without Cause of Death						\$	17.00	х				
Rush Fee						\$	10.00	х				
Certificate Protective Sheath						\$	5.00	х				
Search Fee-Additional Years, per Year (Required when exact year is unknown)						\$	2.00	х				
Shipping & Handling Fee (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery)						\$	1.00	х				

Acceptable forms of payment are: Cash, Credit/Debit card (VISA, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS, MASTERCARD) and Money Order. Make Money Orders payable to St. Lucie County Health Department

## INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

**AVAILABILITY**: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

**ELIGIBILITY**: WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

**CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION**: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

- 1. Decedent's spouse or parent;
- 2. Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;
- 3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent;
- 4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request.

**SPECIAL NOTE**: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate.

**INFORMATION NEEDED:** A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

**<u>APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE:</u>** Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

**NONREFUNDABLE**: Vital record fees are nonrefundable.

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: Is required, as well as his/her printed name, residence address and telephone number.

**RUSH FEE:** Expedited request to be completed within 24 hours. This service prioritizes your request for quicker processing and delivery. Please note the associated 'fee' for this service, which covers the additional resources and efforts required to meet your urgent needs.

**<u>CERTIFICATE PROTECTIVE SHEATH</u>**: a protective covering, case, or enclosure designed to hold and safeguard documents. It is to secure certificate from damage, wear, or external elements. It serves the purpose of both protection and easy access to the enclosed item when needed.

## **OPTIONS FOR ORDERING:**

**ONLINE:** The Office of Vital Statistics currently use VitalChek, our only approved vendor. VitalChek is a third-party service not affiliated with the department of health, fees charged may differ from your local office. VitalChek may be reached by telephone at 1-877-550-7330, by fax at 1-877-550-7428, or online at stlucie.floridahealth.com/certificates.

**WALK-IN SERVICE:** Visit 5150 NW Milner Drive, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34983-3392 between 8:00 am – 4:30 pm. Eligible applicants must present a valid ID when requesting confidential records.

**MAIL IN:** Normal processing time is 3-5 business days. If requesting RUSH service, a fee is associated. Rush Orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders require a Shipping and Handling Fee and are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery.

VETERANS ADMINISTRATION (VA): May receive one free death certification, without the cause of death, under these conditions;

- I. The death record must indicate the decedent served in the US Armed Forces
- II. The funeral director may request the copy for the family OR
- III. VA may request the copy.
- IV. Must be on VA letterhead.
- V. Must provide valid VA ID
- VI. Only one (1) free copy allowed per decedent; if requesting with the cause of death, must pay fee as this is not public record (unless your county has elected to provide free of charge).
- VII. Indicate VA Courtesy Copy in the e-Vitals Service Type
- VIII. Computer certifications print with the disclaimer "FOR VAVERIFICATION ONLY"
- IX. If issued from photocopy, must stamp manually "FOR VA VERIFICATION ONLY".