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APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD 

Office of Vital Statistics in St Lucie County 

5150 NW Milner Drive, Port St. Lucie, FL 34983 

Phone:  772‐873‐4932  /  Fax: 772‐873‐8592 

https://stlucie.floridahealth.gov/certificates/ 
 

FUNERAL HOME APPLICATION 
 
 

 
SECTION A: DECEDENT INFORMATION 

 

 
NAME OF DECEDENT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

 
ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE) 

 IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known) SEX 

 
DATE OF DEATH 

MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED 

(Required only when exact year of death is not known) 

Indicate the range of years to be searched 

 
PLACE OF DEATH 

PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY STATE FILE NUMBER (if known) 

NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS 

RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD 

(if applicable and if known) 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (Maiden, if applicable) SUFFIX 

 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

(if known) 

  

FUNERAL HOME NAME 

(if known) 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on 

any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the 

third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 

 
SECTION B: APPLICANT (adult requesting certificate) INFORMATION 

If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the relationship of the 
person you represent. Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form. 

Applicant’s Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

( ) 

MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER 

 

( ) 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

 
Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for Cause of 

Death Information 

LICENSE/ BAR NUMBER NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED and THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

  

 
CHARGE:  QUANTITY  

       __________ x $17.00 With Cause of Death  FOR FAX OR EMAIL ORDERS ONLY:                                                              

       __________ x $17.00 Without Cause of Death     Credit Card Number: ________________________ 

       __________ x 0.00 VA (Max 1 per lifetime)               Expiration Date: ________________ 

      __________ Total Number of Certificates                 Security code: __________ 
  

       __________ x $10.00 Rush Fee (FAX, EMAIL, or ONLINE Orders)  
 

Acceptable forms of payment: Cash, Credit/Debit card (VISA, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS, MASTERCARD) and 

Money Order. Make Money Orders payable to St. Lucie County Health Department 

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the 
death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo 
identification, front &   back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see 
Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause 
of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this 
application. 
Acceptable forms of valid ID are: driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. When requesting a death certification 
without cause of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required. 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION 

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had 

consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered. 

ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of 

death. 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. 

Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following 

individuals: 

1. Decedent’s spouse or parent;  

2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 

3.  Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the 

estate of the decedent; 

4.  Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons. 

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a 

notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the 

above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our local office. 

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license 

number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not 

representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to 

Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request.  

SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing 

probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death. If any of the other 

items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, 

etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE: Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and 

telephone number. 

RUSH FEE: Expedited request to be completed within 24 hours. This service prioritizes your request for quicker processing 

and delivery. Please note the associated 'fee' for this service, which covers the additional resources and efforts required to 

meet your urgent needs. 

VETERANS ADMINISTRATION (VA): May receive one free death certification, without the cause of death, under these 

conditions; 

I. The death record must indicate the decedent served in the US Armed Forces 

II. The funeral director may request the copy for the family OR 

III. VA may request the copy 

IV. Must be on VA letterhead 

V. Must provide valid VA ID 

VI. Only one (1) free copy allowed per decedent; if requesting with the cause of death, must pay fee as this is not public 

record (unless your county has elected to provide free of charge). 

VII.  Indicate VA Courtesy Copy in the e-Vitals Service Type 

VIII. Computer certifications print with the disclaimer “FOR VAVERIFICATION ONLY” 

IX. If issued from photocopy, must stamp manually ”FOR VA VERIFICATION ONLY”. 

 

 

Florida Dept. of Health in St. Lucie 

County Office of Vital Statistics 

5150 NW Milner 

Drive Port St. Lucie, 

FL 34983 

https://stlucie.floridahealth.gov/certificates/ 
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